Why I Decided to Start a Blog

I’ve always been a writer at heart. I’m that person that can never seem to come up with the words to express what I’m trying to say when I’m having a conversation with you in person. I’m that girl that has written letters just to get my point across, when a simple phone call should have sufficed. (I cringe now to think of what was written to past boyfriends!) While it has brought frustration at times to be that person, at other times it has brought relief and revelation (and it also made it a heck of a lot easier to get through college papers).

While I don’t consider myself to be the most interesting or entertaining person in the world, I hope that sharing my life with you in such a format will inspire and encourage, will cause you to think differently, or will simply put a smile on your face.

Why the title, “May It Be to Me?”

For a decade now, it’s been my life verse, my daily aspiration. It comes from Luke 1:38 when Mary responds to the angel after she is told that she, a teenage girl, is to become the mother of the Savior. Amid cultural slander and surely great fear, her humble response is, “May it be to me, as you have said.” I believe that as Americans, we seek after a secure life. While there is nothing wrong with security itself, it can also keep us from truly living the life God calls us to live. I believe I’m not the only one out there who is a dreamer. I want to live a worthy life. I want to be a risk taker. And, ultimately, I want to stand up against my own fear, against the cultural norm of my day, and reply: “May it be to me, as you have said.” But there is a constant battle going on inside of me. One side is effortlessly seeking a comfortable, predictable life. The other yearns for an unknown adventure with limitless possibilities! I know God will call me to do great and sometimes frightening things. I pray for a ready heart to be able to say YES and the humility to walk with Him through it all.

What things in your life do you wish you had said “Yes” to? What things are you glad that you did?

3 thoughts on “Why I Decided to Start a Blog

  1. I’m so glad you’ve decided to start blogging. This is beautifully written and expresses an ongoing struggle that pretty much all of us can relate to! I love seeing your heart in this. Your question is a tough one to answer, but it’s one I think about a lot. I guess right now we’re in the midst of trying something new that we feel God has called us to, but we don’t know how it’ll turn out at all. It’s scary, humbling, and exciting all at the same time.

    I look forward to reading more from you in the future!

  2. Mindy, I second what Rachel said….this is beautifully written! I too struggle with the pressures and temptations of chasing the “American Dream.” While I was on my hands and knees this morning scrubbing our baseboards, my mind started drifting to thoughts of what Ryan and I could do if we had more money….if we hadn’t decided to be teachers but instead had chosen higher-paying jobs. And then I was reminded of a sermon by John Piper that I recently listened to – and I remembered how brief our time is on earth in comparison to eternity. We’re not bringing any of our stuff with us when we pass away. It won’t matter how big our house was, how many kids we had, how attractive we were, how much fun we had….the only thing that will matter is what we believed about Jesus. It’s so hard to keep an eternal perspective with the struggles of bills, work, chores, etc. But I’m so thankful to have a sister (in Christ and in family) like you who to write encouraging reminders like this. Can’t wait to read your next blog! I’m so glad we’re family.

  3. Woooo! I’ve been trying to start a blog recently too. This is fantastic! Thank you for sharing the meaning behind your title. I LOVE it. The meaning is beautiful and amazing. May it certainly be to you, Mindy, as God continues to speak it!

Leave a Reply

